First order of the season

Last night, I placed an order for two Dicentra Spectabilis “Gold Heart” and one of the new “Invincibelle Spirit” Hydrangea Arborescens.  I’m very excited.  I’ve ordered these from White Flower Farm, although I know that “Gold Heart” is widely available, and WFF is expensive, the “Gold Heart” I ordered from them a few years ago was spectacular upon planting, so I believe it is worth the money.

As for the Hydrangea- well I’m a sucker for hydrangeas, especially cousins of Annabelle.  And a pink sport of Annabelle?  What’s not to love?  My only question (and dear husband, if you are reading this, don’t be cross) is where to put it.  I really should take out those dogwoods and put it there, but I just love the yellow and red sticks in the winter.

Fortunately, with temperatures about to plunge to 20 below zero (farenheit), I have plenty of time to contemplate where I’ll put it.

This entry was posted in Ideas for the Garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First order of the season

  1. Lona says:

    I have saw the Dicentra Spectabilis ”Gold Heart” in catalogs and thought it was so pretty with the pink against the gold foliage. Another hydrangea lover I see. I am crazy about them and this one has the biggest mop-heads.
    Good choices and additions to your garden.

  2. Linda says:

    I was wondering if you received your pink Annabelle? I got mine a few weeks ago from Spring Hill Nursery and it’s already got a few tiny leaves on it. Have you decided where you’re going to put it? (Mine is still in the pot because I can’t decide!)

  3. gwendolyngarden says:

    My goodness no, I haven’t decided– Why would I do something crazy like that? 😉

    I hope to get the little beauty soon, so that I can enjoy it wherever I decide to put it!

Leave a comment