Gardens at Christmastime

This time of year is one of my favorite for the garden:  nothing to do but dream.  I’m planning next year’s garden and I think yellow will be my new color scheme.  In the past four years I have been so in love with pink and purple schemes, that it occurred to me last year that I could probably branch out a little– and then I fell in love with a late, long-blooming soft lemon yellow daylily.  This led me to plan what I hope will be a lovely garden next year- in full sun in a 8ft by 20ft herbaceous border based on a friend’s wedding bouquet.  Some of the new plants I am thinking about including are lantana (a local nursery has a gorgeous lantana tree– I think I’ll stick with treating it as an annual), nasturtiums, zinnias, snapdragons, knifphofia– all in bright sunny colors, with a splash of lime green as an accent.  It could be a total disaster.  That’s what Vita Sackville West worried about when she created her famous “grey green and white garden.”  Although mine won’t be as grand in scale as her garden (my whole property is 1/7 of an acre- including my house), hopefully my modest little border will provide me with something sunny to look at on my way to work.

As this is a new blog, created at a colleague’s suggestion, I am happy to attempt to answer garden questions if you have them.  Look forward to hearing from you!

This entry was posted in Ideas for the Garden and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gardens at Christmastime

  1. kateandgracie says:

    I am so excited about this yellow idea. I heart yellow! Can you put in a link to this grey and white garden of which you speak?

  2. gwendolyngarden says:

    possibly. I’ll see what I can do.

  3. kateandgracie says:

    hooray! great work!

  4. kateandgracie says:

    i love this blog!

  5. Pingback: Gifts for Gardeners 2009 « Gwendolyn’s Garden

Leave a Reply

