Some garden photos

The recent thaw and rains have encouraged me to rummage through my photos and see what I have that is good and what I can learn from the photos for next year.

Hosta border

Hosta border

Photographs allow you to see what is wrong with something that looks fine to the naked eye.  While the color combinations are right for this picture, it is clear that these plants need more room to spread out, and that I need to plant something to grow along that rather drab wall behind the hostas.

Perennial Border in Kew Gardens, London, UK

Perennial Border in Kew Gardens, London, UK

You may be noticing a theme with my love of chartreuse, but this border is the inspiration for my yellow and chartreuse gardens this year.  The photo doesn’t show how strange and wonderful this combination is.

English front garden

English front garden

Again, in photographs you can see what works and what doesn’t.  Here, the tall royal purple siberian iris hide the slow to bloom hydrangeas behind them.  Later in the season, the green and white hosta is lost from view, but it provides great spring color before things really get going.  You can also see how I have planned that flowers bloom in succession.  First tulips, then alliums, then irises and peonies, then delphiniums and meadow rue, then hydrangeas… and so on.

Speaking of peonies- this is the glorious grab bag peony I grew last year.  “Tis gorgeous.

Gwendolyn's Peony

Gwendolyn's Peony

I assume that it is Kansas or that type, but it wasn’t named when I bought it.

Bearded Iris

Bearded Iris

What appears purple in this Iris shot is really a dark blue- purple.  This iris was named when I bought it, but once planted, I don’t usually really care what it is and have since forgotten.  I wish I knew because it is the most gorgeous iris I have ever seen.  It is an example of why rules were made to be broken, too- I bought it in bloom and then had to wait for three years to see it bloom again.  Boy was it worth it!

Just a little something to think about while I watch the rain(!) come down.

This entry was posted in Ideas for the Garden and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Some garden photos

  1. I’m with you on a love of chartreuse, Gwendolyn. And those are terrific hosta combinations; I’ve gone from being one who was sort of meh on hostas to loving them.

  2. Sue says:

    Great post! I like the way you used the photos to get ideas for next year. I printed out contact sheets last year, but have neglected that this year, due to blogging. I have been looking through my pics a lot, though.

    Your beds and flowers look good to me. That peony is pretty.

  3. gracieandkate says:

    I love that peony so much.

    And I’m tired of being sick. No more!

Leave a Reply

