Gardening in your head

I have this great game that I play when I am trying to get my mind off something bothering me.  Last night, for example, I was on a turbulent plane ride from Detroit- and being somewhat of a nervous flyer, it helped me take my mind off my queasy stomach a bit.  The game works two ways, the first way (the way I did it last night) was to think of garden related things in alphabetical order– last night, I did names of plants: Acer, Buddleia, Campanula, Dianthus, etc. etc.  “X” can be in the word, but if someone discovers a new plant and names it the xylophone plant, I will be forever greatful.

You can also play the game in boring meetings- as Kate will attest, it does help you pay attention.  Basically you do the same thing, but wait for a person to say a word that starts with that letter: surprisingly, “K” is one of the hardest letters. 

Just a thought to pass the time.  Now I think I’m going to go lie down and deal with my queasy stomach.

This entry was posted in Ideas for the Gardener and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gardening in your head

  1. Pingback: Topics about Plants » Archive » Gardening in your head « Gwendolyn’s Garden

  2. Ryan says:

    I might have to try that game in my next meeting or on the plane to Sydney . . . although that flight is quite long! lol

  3. gwendolyngarden says:

    Not sure it will sustain you for 20 some hours. But definitely worth trying in a meeting!

Leave a Reply

