Weeds and Beetles

Just returned home from vacation to the usual things- mountains of laundry, thousands of emails and a garden full of weeds.

I pulled the usual suspects from the garden (grass, dandelions)- and even talked my husband into helping (which indicates just how bad the weeds were- even he could see them).

Mostly we pulled Dill. And Cosmos. Some folks might actually like these plants but I removed seven 20-gallon bins of dill and cosmos from my tiny little garden plot. And that was just four beds in the back.

This afternoon looks like the perfect time to get out and weed the front gardens… which also are looking a little bedraggled.

Between the Japanese Beetles and the dryness and the weeds… remind me again why I love gardening so much?

As for Japanese Beetles– I think I forgot to mention, they don’t seem to like herbs planted in the ground- but love herbs planted in containers. They are strange creatures, those beetles.

One little joy after my return– who knew that Japanese Beetles don’t seem to like Stargazer lilies?  They look wonderful in the front bed- I know that I planted them, but I can’t think when… good call though.  A nice Japanese-Beetle resistant pop of color! (and the smell– wow.  Definitely too strong for the house!)

So- get out there, put a hat on (so the beetles don’t get in your hair- gross), and get to weeding!  And when you’re done, come on over for some dill- I’ve got plenty!

This entry was posted in In the Garden and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weeds and Beetles

  1. Pingback: Japanese Beetles AGAIN | Gwendolyn’s Garden

  2. Betsy Christison says:

    Before you get rid of your dill next year, be sure to look to see if there are any little Swallowtail Butterfly caterpillars on it…it is a host plant for the Black Swallowtail and it is really fun to raise them using Dill and Parsley. They are gorgeous butterflies and worth leaving some dill for them to eat!

  3. gwendolyngarden says:

    We do, in fact, have a swallowtail sanctuary, and have since I started the garden. The key with such a sanctuary is to manage it so that your entire garden doesn’t become a swallowtail sanctuary. This is simple to do: just cut off the dill seedheads so that the plant produces more side branches.

Leave a Reply

