August Garden Reassessment

The bulb catalogs have arrived and I am excited– more on that later, but it signals the start of one of my favorite times of year– moving time!

This is my favorite time of year to assess the things that went well and plan to change those that didn’t.

For instance, I am going to use groundcovers in the front garden instead of grass.  The grass there looks terrible because the ground is so uneven, which I think will make the Lamium look even better.  Lamium is a great, tough plant, which spreads happily but not crazily for me.  I’ll probably plant bulbs in amongst the lamium for spring color.  I’ll start out in a little space to see how they do and whether I like it (also to minimize my husband’s inevitable protests).  If this works, I’ll gradually build outward, as I have with all my gardens.

I am going to mulch certain beds that are inconvenient to weed, especially the pink and purple garden, and the Linden extension, as well as the dogwood border.  The shade border, perennial border and hot colors garden will also be mulched for the first time, because I just don’t have time to deal with all the weeds.

I am going to move my hot colored daylilies (this will be for the third time) around the mailbox for an extra few weeks of color and I will plant a dogwood or other big bush in that corner to block (somewhat) my view of the neighbor’s rain barrel and compost bin.

I am also going to move the parsifal hydrangea from the front bed to a protected corner (next to the fireplace) where it will hopefully get more than four inches tall.  From the fireplace I am going to move the “Bluebird” aster, “David” Phlox, and “Happy Returns” (I think) Daylily– the former two going to the new Linden extension and the Daylily going to my hot colors garden or out front for my mailbox garden.

I am going to line the sidewalk side of my boxwood hedge with violets, which I think will give a nice green edge to the bed– while not costing too much to worry about it being trampled by dogs, bicycles and children.

This entry was posted in Ideas for the Garden, In the Garden and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

