Arbor Vitae cuttings

If you have a moment during this busy holiday season, you can take cuttings of your favorite arbor vitaes (and other evergreens like boxwood) for use in containers and elsewhere.  I just took a cutting of my loose bluish arbor vitae– stripped off the bottom scales, dipped it in water, then rooting powder and put it in a pot in my garage with a pop bottle on top to keep the cuttings from drying out.  I checked them last week and they are rooted already. 

I’ll leave them out there until the garage is below freezing and then bring them in a cool room for the winter– and next spring I’ll have some great arbor vitaes started for a containerized screen– for free!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

