2010 Color of the Year

Kansas Peony, Year 1

 

You guessed it- hot pink is the color of the year for 2010.  I will have windowboxes and beds full of this color.  From Peony “Kansas” to my own hybrid of hot pink and yellow snapdragons, to clematis, and zinnias and roses and sweetpeas, 2010 is going to be the year of brightest pink. 

2009 was the year of yellow and chartreuse, as you may recall, and I enjoyed that, but I am looking forward to some nice bright pink accents all over the house. 

I have a special reason for picking hot pink as my color of the year– my sister has picked it as the color of her big day, and I am doing the flowers, so I will try to have all manner of pink things for her to choose from. 

Here are some of my ideas- conventional and not, for hot pink in the garden (and in bouquets) next year. 

Roses 

Orchids 

Cleome (my sister’s favorite flower) 

Coleus 

Snapdragons 

Peonies 

Tulips 

Cosmos 

Red Hot Pokers 

Ranunculus 

Dahlias 

Daylilies 

Dianthus 

Hydrangeas- particularly “Parsifal” which is hot hot pink in my soil. 

Yarrow 

Petunias (although I will be using these sparingly as they are beloved of my archenemy beetles) 

Pelargoniums and Geraniums 

Crabapple and Magnolia Branches 

Sweetpeas 

There are millions more- but this should be a good start!

This entry was posted in Ideas for the Garden, photos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

