Romantic Statues for Valentine’s Day

Pomona in the Azaleas

I adore garden statuary, particularly when it looks lost and forelorn.  There is something wonderfully “secret garden” about coming upon a statue in amongst brush- I find it very romantic.  As the season for Valentines Day is upon us, I thought I’d share a few of my favorite garden sculptures- as you can see, I have a weakness for classical statutes.

Last spring, we took a long weekend trip to one of my favorite places, Charleston, South Carolina.  One of its older families has opened their property, Magnolia Plantation, to the public.  They have an excellent variety of statuary throughout the gardens… many of which are sited exactly the way I like them- as if a Roman villa once stood there, and has been reclaimed by nature.

hidden statues

This statue was located in a patch of naturalized daffodils and other assorted southern flora that my northern eye did not recognize.  I had to go on a side path and peer through bushes to even find this little gem.

A woman gathering flowers- Pomona again?

Another female figure was off to the side of a little pathway, in amongst the spanish moss. 

Of course, there was a mini labyrinth as well, with the requisite statuary in the center, but this is a little predictable for my taste.

Labyrinth at Magnolia Plantation

If you, like me, do not have acres at your command, or classical figures would look insanely out of place in your garden, we can still get this hidden effect with some old things placed in the garden.  Not shoes or old kettles.  That looks a little strange. 

Years ago, my father brought a vase back from China with an interesting magenta glaze.  Unfortunately it had become noticably chipped in transport, so it had been relegated to my basement for awhile.  For ease of cleaning, I had opened my basement window and chucked everything out that needed to be thrown away (this was very liberating, and I highly recommend it).  This vase landed in my garden on its side amongst some tall “David” phlox (also given to me by my father) and looked so great that I haven’t moved it.  It looks lovely and hidden and was an accidental way to add a little romance and faux-history to my garden.

For other Charleston Gardens, look here.

This entry was posted in Garden Visits, Ideas for the Garden and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Romantic Statues for Valentine’s Day

  1. Beautiful sculptures… I love the second one the best.

Leave a Reply

