Royal Botanic Gardens Kew, U.K.

Royal Botanic Garden, Kew

 One of the best vacations I ever took in my life was to the U.K. with my husband.  As it was my second visit and his first, we wanted to make sure that we had an opportunity to do things that we each liked- my choice was to visit the Royal Botanic Gardens at Kew. 

It was incredible.  I expected a park with a bunch of perennial borders- but was overwhelmed by the varieties (and SIZE!) of trees, shrubs and plants of all kinds.  The views were incredibly romantic and looked as if they came from an old landscape painting.  The visit is indelibly etched in my mind. 

View from the bridge at Kew Gardens

 I can’t believe this is even a photograph.  And not a posed one- a swan just happened to be floating by.  Amazing. 

Pond with Irises

 This pond was so lovely to look at that we ate our packed lunch next to it on a conveniently placed park bench.  It was very romantic and sweet.  And right around the corner, peacocks!    

Peacock near the glasshouses

Peacock in front of enormous Cotinus

 I recognize that my delight in peacocks may reflect my northern Wisconsin upbringing, but they were pretty impressive.  And free roaming.  My husband absolutely nixed the idea of peacocks on our 1/7 of an acre. 

Huge Rhodedendrons

 We were there right as the rhododendrons were blooming- what variety!  Enormous old specimens in every color. 

Rhodie Border beneath Cedar of Lebanon on the Broadwalk

 There were, of course, beautiful herbaceous borders as well- including these delightful poppies that I adore. 

Kew Poppies

The Chartreuse Border at Kew

If you can spare the time on your next trip to London, you should definitely visit… it’s easily accessible by tube and worth the price of admission.  My husband would recommend visiting the gift shop at the END, rather than the beginning- that orchid pot was very heavy.

This entry was posted in Garden Visits, photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Royal Botanic Gardens Kew, U.K.

  1. Christine B. says:

    But you must tell me how you convinced your husband to go to Kew with you in the first place. Mine would hear the words “really big garden” and his eyes would glaze over…. Loved the chartreuse border, it must be very eye-catching.

    Christine in Alaska

  2. gwendolyngarden says:

    He’s a good sport. And I went to numerous changings of the guard, which are not my favorite- so it was even, in a way. Although he still gives me a hard time about the orchid pot.

  3. how much did it cost you on your vacation to the kew botanical garden?

  4. I am a Swazi and can you please help me with funds to visit the kew botanical garden. I have learnt about it here at university of swaziland and my wish is to see it with my own eyes.

  5. the Royal botanical garden truly is mouth watering but, how much does it cost to run and keep in such top form?

  6. gwendolyngarden says:

    Ah- the public policy aspects of keeping botanical gardens open to the public. As to that I have no comment. I think it is money well spent. Others may disagree. As to my own personal costs- I have no idea, as I made this trip quite a few years ago.

Leave a Reply

