Dwarf Irises

Dwarf Iris

They’re gorgeous!  If you knew, why didn’t you tell me?  Hardly anyone grows them around here and I have no idea why… I love them!

I have snowdrops, crocuses and these gorgeous little irises blooming  in my courtyard- nary a prettier sight have I seen!  I spent part of the day yesterday sitting on the ground with a nice Shiraz staring at the irises.  They are wonderful.  My starter patch of 20 is not nearly enough.

I think I’ve figured out why I never tried them before: in the catalog they just look like irises.  Even here, they aren’t as exciting as in person.  And they do look like irises while they are blooming- but they are so anachronistic that it is a true delight to see them compared to other simple flowers blooming at this time of year.  And the colors!!!  I must have purchased a “mixed shades” bunch- probably a good idea to see what I like.  They are all blue and purple and some have yellow splotches, some just leopard spots (in blue)… I could go on and on.  Just gorgeous.

I am going to go hogwild at Brent and Becky’s Bulbs– and if I remember to order by the 1st of July, there is an early order discount!

I think I’ll get some of the ‘Frank Elder,’ ‘Danfordiae,’ ‘Cantab’- or maybe just get another mix because there really isn’t a variety that I dislike!  Clearly I need to calm down a bit- I’m getting overzealous on the exclamation marks.

I can't wait for next year!

(but I LOVE them!!!)

This entry was posted in In the Garden, photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dwarf Irises

  1. I love these too! They are so easy to grow as well… great pics!

  2. Liz says:

    I love Irises… I have a slight obsession with them and over the past few weeks we’ve had many pots filled with them.

    I’m not complaining because they are wonderful!

  3. Ilona says:

    I grow them and love them too! They are very dependable. Glad you found out about them and decided to include them in your garden 🙂

  4. Cheri says:

    I put in some iris like this last Fall and I was equally excited to see them come up a week or so ago. So cute.
    Fun to find another Madison gardener who likes them…found you on Blotanical! Hope to hear more.
    Cheri

Leave a Reply

