What’s Blooming: April 15

Today is a lovely day in the garden-(it was nearly 80 degrees!).  The front walk is edged with scilla, the daffodils and hyacinths are blooming.  The shade garden is enjoying its blue windflowers and more scilla.  The tulips from earlier springs have come up and look marvelous (I even think there may be a parrot tulip in there, quelle suprise!)  The primroses and pulmonarias and catmint and muscari are up and gorgeous.  The Star Magnolia is blooming like mad, and the ‘Elizabeth’ Magnolia, planted in honor of my favorite niece, is about to flower.  I hope it flowers in time for my mother’s arrival on Saturday!

— 7:13 p.m. (before the Thunderstorm rolls in (hence the flat light)

Mailbox garden

scilla along the front boxwoods

Won’t these look great in two years?

And now- the daffodil walk:

pink and white daffodils in the rock garden

The Sunshine Boys

A terrible shot of a gorgeous daffodil bed.

the sole survivors

Above are the end of the ‘Jetfire’ daffodils and the last tulips to survive the Attack of the Mutant Voles 2010.

To see what is blooming elsewhere, visit here.

This entry was posted in In the Garden, photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s Blooming: April 15

  1. Melody says:

    Pink and white daffodils are a lovely combination! I want to add some pink dafs to my garden for next spring.

  2. Sylvana says:

    I know I have voles, but I have been very lucky to not have MUTANT VOLES! I’m sure that they have gotten a few of my bulbs here and there, but if they went after them en masse, I would be on a massive rodent hunt!!

Leave a Reply

