Magnolias

'Elizabeth'

I have loved magnolias ever since I lived in Washington, D.C.  Embarrassingly, I had never seen a saucer magnolia until I lived there.  I will always think of these as the flowers of my young adulthood- a source of wonder to the naive girl from Northern Wisconsin.

Magnolias have extra meaning for me- I have planted ‘Elizabeth’ in honor of my only niece.  Thankfully, none of my nephews are ‘Leonard Messel’- a bad name for a beautiful girl.

Good Old 'Leonard'

These are just babies- but someday they will be awesome.  And I can’t believe how many flowers they have already!  These last few years I have found that (unlike a lot of trees) the magnolias really do like extra fertilizer.  I am happy to oblige, because they are gorgeous.

This entry was posted in In the Garden, photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

