Flowers for Work

This Week's Office Flowers

Like most every other gardener, in order to afford the fortune that I pour into the garden, I have a real job.  It is a good job with a nice office window and interesting colleagues.  But what really makes it habitable for more than 40 hours a week is flowers.

My goal is to bring in a flower arrangement from the garden two times per month.  Last week I brought in one of my gorgeous tree peonies.  This week, an over the top mixed arrangement of sage, hostas, lily of the valley, alliums, chive flowers and anemones.  I have long brought flowers into the house for bedside and table centerpieces, but frankly I spend most of my awake time in my office anyway, so it is the perfect place for them. 

It makes me feel very professional to have a flower arrangement in my office- I once worked for a tremendously wealthy man who was very frugal in many ways- but not with flowers.  He had flower arrangements in his office every week- every week all the staff would peer in the office to see what the florist would deliver.  The great thing about flowers is that we don’t have to be rich to enjoy them– three tulips from the garden in a vase is the perfect antidote to a week wading through a 287 page economist’s report.

It is amazing how much flowers lift our spirits- like a baby or a puppy in the office, something that is completely natural and completely different than the grey filing cabinets and industrial carpet that we are used to seeing; it’s a real morale booster.  And something great to look at for those 2 hour long conference calls.

This entry was posted in Ideas for the Gardener, photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Flowers for Work

  1. Linda says:

    Hear, hear Gwendolyn! Flowers make a drab office or cube bearable. Even better if they’re lightly fragranced and from your own garden.

  2. Rich says:

    Hi Gwendolyn,

    I just stumbled upon your blog while I was looking for some WI native plant information and I think it is a great resource. Having just moved to Southern Wisconsin, I am new to the climate and some of the native plants. In particular, I have one perennial that my mother in law gave to us that I am having a hard time identifying. Do you know of any resources that I can use to help me on my task? I have pictures, if that helps.

    Thanks for your time,
    Rich

  3. gwendolyngarden says:

    Rich -If you live in Madison, you could take it to Jungs, Johannsen’s or Klein’s Floral and they could identify it. What does it look like?

  4. Pingback: The Herb Garden | Gwendolyn’s Garden

  5. Now I wish I could bring flowers with me on the plane! Yes you are correct. A vase of flowers,especially when they are home grown will de-stress you (even after reading an economic report – eek!). There was a lady I used to work with and her love was roses and the old sort, not the modern hybrids. The fragrance was incredible and I’d go stand awhile and pay her a visit under false pretences. 🙂 How she got work done I’ve no idea. Have a great evening….M

  6. gwendolyngarden says:

    I can imagine! Old-fashioned roses, how lovely!

Leave a Reply

