Daylilies

"Pink Monday" Daylily

Living on Daylily Place, I have  a great assortment of daylilies.  My favorites- by far- are the pink and white varieties, although when massed, I love hot colors as well.

The first plant I planted in our gardens was a gift from my husband- 12 Stella D’oro daylilies that I planted around our mailbox.  Although ridiculously common, they look stunning with the Clematis “Jackmanii” growing around the mailbox.  I really like the way purple and orange look together– the purple lends gravity to the orange and the orange lends exuberance to the purple.

'Mauna Loa'

'Fire Engine Nicholas'

'Happy Returns'

On my very small plot, I have designed my hot colors garden to include my favorite daylily of all time, Mauna Loa.  When it blooms, it looks like it is on fire.  Also included is the very long-blooming lemon yellow daylily that is a later variety that often blooms until frost.  Fire Engine Nicholas, bought as a tribute to my nephew, is a star in my hot colors garden.  Even the common orange daylily, with roots to the iron core of the earth, has a place in my garden, (with some careful monitoring of its spready roots) as it tolerates an extremely damp corner in 2 inches of heavy clay over gravel.

I also have a huge number of peach dayliles.  I don’t know why this is so, but I’ve had them since we moved in- I suspect as a gift from my father.  I find the peach to be a little washy and insubstantial, but possibly planted en masse they might look very nice!  They also help extend the daylily season around the mailbox.

Daylilies are one of the easiest plants to grow, which has led to some mild daylily abuse in snobbier gardening circles.  Frankly, garden snobs are idiots.  I love all plants- and the easier to grow, the better.  Even poor spirea would be well grown somewhere if not so ridiculously abused by contractors.  I still don’t like it though.  But I digress.

To grow daylilies – get a lovely fan, separate it out, plant shallowly, dig deeply.  Fertilize for best flowers.  Deadhead individual faded flower stalks.  Enjoy.

Daylilies are also an interesting cut flower.  Be careful when you cut them because they often only have one or two stalks per plant for the whole season, so make sure you are willing to sacrifice the plant for the sake of the flowers.

As a grassy-leaf lover they are wonderful accent plants to an assortment of other perennials, but I like them backed tightly in a border- not spaced individually and mulched- even my husband thinks that looks too much like a bank, and he doesn’t say much about the garden.

A bank of pink daylilies

Orange "ditch lilies"

My latest daylily project will likely be to add daylilies to the linden extension garden which finally has good soil.  I love daylilies and must plant them everywhere I can- how could you do otherwise when you live on Daylily Place?

This entry was posted in In the Garden, photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daylilies

  1. Pingback: Your Garden

Leave a Reply

