Flowers for Valentines Day

image

As someone unlikely to receive flowers for valentines day this year (and haven’t ever, that I can remember), I am always a fan of taking charge of my own life… Ergo the dianthus I bought for myself today. And yes, they’ll be around for at least two weeks.

I know most folks think carnations are trite, but they couldn’t be more wrong, the word “pink” was actually named for these cute flowers, and dianthus/pinks/carnations are mentioned in shakespeare… “the very pinck of courtesy.”

Brand new or ancient, I adore the dianthus family, they are cheap, last forever in a vase and they sell them at the grocery store for goodness sake!

Give me carnations over some long stemmed red roses with baby’s breath any day…even Valentines day.

This entry was posted in cut flowers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flowers for Valentines Day

  1. Amy Ryan says:

    Those are beautiful. I love pinks and cheddars. They add so much to a garden.

Leave a Reply

