I’ve Never Been Promised a Rose Garden

image

So I’ll make one myself.  My favorite thing about a little downtime/lunch time later in the year (and Wednesdays generally), is that I can forget about my to-do list in the garden and start thinking about my What-If? list.

At the top of that What-If? list: a new rose garden.  The very first garden my former husband and I built together at our old house was a rose garden.  I planted some classics: Abraham Lincoln, V is for Victory (hmm…), and a bunch of adorable minatures, including scentsational, which I think is no longer available, for shame.

Now in my new house, and having just finished the book “Roses: A Celebration,” edited by Wayne Winterrowd, I’m keen to get back to my rosy roots.  A rose I’ve long wanted to grow purely for its historical associations: York and Lancaster.  I love the idea of the end of a civil war symbolized by roses to result in a blending even better than one single color.  (It wouldn’t work as well with our own civil war: not a lot of blue and grey flowers.)

My heart, however, belongs to Therese Bugnet.  I love her terrifyingly thorny canes, that are really only thorny on the bottom.  I love the abundance of her (rather plain) pink flowers.  But without doubt, my favorite thing about her is her lovely winter canes.  Winter lasts a long time up here in Madison… and if snow is on the ground for months at a time, nothing beats some red sticks to remind you of the promise of a springtime to come. 

So though I may have to make the garden infinitely larger, I will grow Therese Bugnet, York and Lancaster along with V is for Victory.  Though life may give us lots of opportunities to make our own rose gardens, it is up to us to dig them.

This entry was posted in In the Garden and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ve Never Been Promised a Rose Garden

  1. Diana Studer says:

    a blue and grey flower, could describe my blue sage. Thinking about a few very special worth the effort roses in pots at the next garden. The catalogue from Ludwig’s Roses is so enticing …

  2. Diana Studer says:

    STILL thinking about that False Bay garden, but it’s getting closer. Meantime I’ve taken cuttings from the Old Cape rose, Black Prince.

Leave a Reply

